Written by Benjiman Grant

We Challenge You To A Rock Off! Give Us One Chance To Rock Your Socks Off

We Challenge You To A Rock Off! Give Us One Chance To Rock Your Socks Off

Today I look at the bigger picture. When the world gets on top of us, it can feel like there is no way out. I offer some suggestions for improvement, based on my own experiences. Also a small mention of tomorrow’s EU referendum vote.

Featured Image – Me, my face, and my plethora of hair, I am a walking wookiee. I love my own face, I hated myself for so long, it is great to have self confidence again. gimme a kiss MWAH X

Title Song – Tenacious D – Beelzeboss – I chose this for a good friend, Tim. We often used to sit on voice chat and rock out to ‘THE D’

 

I watched Transformers: age of extinction yesterday. I will be Goddamned if it wasn’t one of the worst gossam, piles of Bantha poodoo. It was on the same level as sharknado for budget and cinematography, but lacking in the self realisation it was a bit if fun.

While it was a tragedy of cinema, there was one moment that stood out. The bounty hunter, Lockdown, mocks someone: ‘I have met so many races like you humans, you think you are the centre of the universe, but there is so much more you’ll never know’

Of course this was just a line in a film not some deep philosophy. It did resonate with me though. In the loneliness of depression we can feel the weight of the universe crushing down on us. We feel like everything is against us and our world view becomes so confined we are unable to continue. The other day I made an analogy, of it being a kin to stuck in a dark forest. (click here for the previous post with the forest metaphor) There can seem to be no way out. In reality the universe is much larger than our tiny forest, there is a way out and there is much more we can see.

We forget when we feel the containment of our self inflicted mind prisons, that we are people. One of billions of people on this planet, one race of billions of species on this earth. One planet of billions of stars in the universe.

I don’t believe in a higher power in the form of a deity, but you need just look up to the sky to see there is something bigger than us all.

It is so easy to contain ourselves and see the universe as a closed place, to be feared for risk of rejection. There is no easy way out of this trap we fall into. Sometimes no words can change our internal view. I still think there is things we can do to be part of this beautiful universe we are lucky enough to experience. The following list is some of the things that I think have helped me reconnect with the world around me.

  • Try to make others smile
  • Listen to the world around you
  • Share in their happiness. And help them smile
  • Being part of the world takes effort. Give it time and don’t rush.
  • Old sayings and cliches are exactly that for a reason, they are generally quite good advice; You get out what you put in. Treat others with the respect you expect from them.The hardest part of this world is to live in it.
  • Everyone is fighting their own internal battles. Take the time to empathise with others
    If you like something say so.
  • Don’t feel embarrassed to share your own happiness. Don’t feel scared of anyone’s reaction. Embrace the things you want to enjoy and let others know what makes you happy.
  • To be able to understand the actions of the world around us we first must understand our own self.
  • Don’t be afraid to express yourself. Take a moment. Find your escape. Music. Singing writing talking to yourself drawing sport acting art; An outlet to show your individuality.
  • Pain and distress escalate when we bottle things up. We need to deal with them and face them in our own way. Stand up and let people know you are fighting a battle.
  • Ask for help. Don’t be afraid of people’s reactions.  Don’t make your own decisions about how people may or may not treat you. Keep asking. Someone will listen. Someone will stand up for you.
  • Share your love, be it with a pet, a friend, a family member or even a random stranger.

Give the world a chance. We live in a negative space with disability that makes us feel alone. But while we are alone in our own thoughts. There are billions of people on this planet. And we instinctively want to be part of that. We want to share our lives with the people around us. So share. Your story might connect to someone you never realised.

We don’t die alone because there will always be some part of you that lives on in the people you impact. Every piece of energy is recycled in some way. Every life is the continuation of life as a whole. We might not feel connected to that, but it is impossible to escape that we are a part of the cycle of the world.

EU Remain Referendum

Now I don’t want to get too involved in politics through this blog, but in this situation it does directly impact  my life, the benefits I currently receive, the healthcare I currently receive and the human rights I have.

I shared this message on Facebook for my friends, but think the message does fit here also.

I don’t want to get bogged down in the politics, but if you care for people’s human rights, if you care for sharing this world, if you care at all the Remain vote will be the way to show it.

This isn’t about money, this isn’t about what could be. This is reality. We are a part of a bigger world.

As a cripply wipple there is no option to me than voting Remain. I have a small voice, but I will be using it to stand up for the people. This is a vote about humanity at its core. Voting remain shows compassion, love and pride in your fellow man.

I understand we all have our different opinions and different voices, this is simply my view from what I have understood of the situation. If you are unsure still, please discuss it with friends, preferably friends who care about this referendum. It is important, we don’t get much chance to have a say, please don’t discount your own vote as worthless.

Tomorrow please head to your local polling station and vote, make a choice on the future of your family, friends and the world of humanity out there.”

 

Thanks for reading, now please sit back and rock out to some Tenacious D.

Leave a Reply

